Blogroll Amnesty Day – The Aftermath

sci_ill_mirror.jpgI’ve enjoyed the last couple of days in blogtopia, or blogistan, or wherever it is I am right now. Because of the tireless efforts of others (in particular the noble Swift whose generosity of spirit stands as a lesson for all conservatives) I’ve come into contact with a few blogs that, under normal circumstances I probably wouldn’t have. Some of these include;

  • The Great Endarkenment – which boasts the second greatest blog title in the known universe (although upon closer inspection it seems the title was purloined from someone called Anne).
  • Zippidy Doo Da – was an interesting miscellany, just the way I like it (in particular I really enjoyed this post).
  • Monkeyfister – which boasts, IMHO, the greatest blog title in the known universe, because everyone enjoys fisting monkeys.
  • Bildungblog – a blog full of interesting photos and humorous comments and commentary (like this one for example).
  • Zen Comix – I like comics.
  • The Field Negro – probably my favorite of all the new blogs I’ve discovered over the last few days (try this on for size).
  • d r i f t g l a s s – I like this guy’s style a lot (for example)

And this is just a few examples of what I’ve perused since Sunday.

So, speaking personally, among the beneficial consequences of B.A.D.;

  1. I’ve come into contact with some high-quality blogs sooner than I would have if left to my own devices.
  2. I feel like I’m in some small way part of a community.
  3. As a consequence I feel compelled to be a better blogger; less choleric, more phlegmatic, or sanguine even.

And, again speaking personally, the stark truth I’ve learned about myself and my blog in the wake of B.A.D.;

  1. I have added no one to my blogroll that isn’t already a far more successful blogger than I am.
  2. I hate myself.

All in all quite a humbling experience.

J.K.

3 Comments on “Blogroll Amnesty Day – The Aftermath”

  1. ck says:

    thank you sir for the kind sharing of your new found delicacies.
    ck

  2. Thanks for the Kudos and thanks for adding me. I discovered you through my sitemeter. Nice layout you have here.

    I promise I’ll get you added soon.

    Chris

  3. Re: your statement: I have added no one to my blogroll that isn’t already a far more successful blogger than I am.

    Well, you’d better add me, then. Or I’ll be forced to send my sole reader over to your corner of blogistan to, shall we say, assess your health or lack thereof.

    ps: I wouldn’t worry – it’s my mother and she’s in her late eighties. Just help her find the door afterwards, there’s a good fellow.


Leave a Reply

